What chakra does grief affect?

Grief is an emotional state that can be difficult to navigate. It can affect us physically, mentally, and emotionally, impacting our entire sense of well-being. One area that grief can have a profound impact on is our chakras. In yogic traditions, chakras are energy points within the body that correspond to particular aspects of our lives. When we experience grief, certain chakras become blocked, creating an imbalance in our energy system. In this article, we'll explore which chakras grief affects and what we can do to find balance during this time.

Index of contents
  1. What Are Chakras?
  2. How Does Grief Affect the Chakras?
  3. Ways To Balance Your Chakras In Grief.
  4. Conclusion

What Are Chakras?

Chakra is an ancient Indian Sanskrit word that translates to “wheel” or “disk.” In yogic tradition, each chakra is an energy point located along the central channel of the body, located off the spinal cord. Chakra points correspond with different elements of our lives, ranging from our physical state to our emotions and spirituality.

The seven main chakras are located along the spine, and work together to create a balanced energy system. These seven chakras are the root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown chakras. When all seven chakras are balanced and working in harmony, we feel energized, vibrant, and connected to our highest selves.

How Does Grief Affect the Chakras?

Grief can upset the harmony of chakras, blocking certain points of energy and resulting in an imbalance. When grieving, we often feel disconnected from our physical, emotional, and spiritual selves. This disconnection is reflected in the disruption of the chakra system.

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is the most affected chakra in grief. The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, between the breasts. It represents our ability to love and trust, and is the gateway to the spiritual chakras. When experiencing grief, our ability to open to love is often blocked, preventing us from feeling emotional connections.

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is also heavily impacted by grief. This chakra is located in the throat and governs our ability to communicate opinions and feelings. Because grief can often leave us feeling overwhelmed and isolated, the throat chakra can become blocked, preventing us from expressing our thoughts and feelings.

The third eye, or Ajna, chakra is located between the eyebrows and is responsible for our intuition and wisdom. In grief, many feel an inability to connect to their spiritual selves, preventing them from finding solace in their spiritual practice. This imbalance can often cause a blockage in the third eye chakra.

The imbalance of chakras caused by grief can also create physical fatigue and an inability to retain energy near the body. This can result in an extended aura, where energy is lost more easily and quickly.

Ways To Balance Your Chakras In Grief.

Chakra work can be extremely helpful in balancing the chakras and restoring harmony during times of grief. Working with the root chakra can be especially beneficial, as this chakra corresponds to our sense of safety, security, and stability.

Root chakra healing can be achieved through grounding practices, such as walking barefoot on the earth, forest bathing, and meditating with nature-based imagery. Other practices for balancing each chakra include sound healing, aromatherapy, and crystals.


Grief can have an impact on our whole being, from physical to mental and spiritual wellbeing. When grieving, our chakras can become blocked, resulting in an imbalance in our energy system. By engaging in chakra work, we can restore the harmony of our energy centers and move through the grieving process with more ease and understanding.

Nancy Crawford Smith

Nancy is a registered nurse who has trained in various energy therapies, including Reiki and Maya Abdominal Therapy. She uses a combination of body work, energy therapies, and spiritual healing to assist individuals in a holistic healing journey.

More articles:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *