Our body has a natural healing capacity. However, our actions often get in its way. We feed our body the wrong kinds of food, we overwork it and we don’t allow for proper rest. We also expose our body to constant stress and negativity. We hold onto emotions and attitudes that can short-circuit the body’s’ energy flow causing weaknesses and imbalances. If imbalances are not corrected over time the chakras themselves may weaken and become unbalanced.

 Chakra balancing is a hands-on treatment that can help unblock and balance the negative energy that has built up over time in the chakras. When one chakra becomes unbalanced because it is either blocked or overworked, the other chakras have to compensate by changing their levels of energy. This means that the whole chakra system is working on behalf of this affected chakra and is, therefore, imbalanced.

 An imbalance on any level will ultimately result in symptoms in the physical body including mental and emotional disturbances. Mental and emotional stresses have been proven to be two of the primary factors in physical disorders. Emotions can affect your nervous system functions, your hormone levels and your immune system.

 Chakra balancing is done to keep the flow of life energy evenly distributed throughout the body and a return to harmony and balance. When there is balance the body is more effective in eliminating toxins and negativities that can hinder our body processes.


There are two separate and effective choices of chakra balancing offered:

1.      The first is through the use of crystals during a Reiki session. The appropriate coloured crystal is chosen (usually by the client) for each chakra. The crystals are laid in pattern over the chakras and using a quartz crystal, a pendulum and Reiki each chakra is cleared and balanced individually. Following the session discussion is held with the client about the condition of their chakras, guidance is offered on ways to address the root cause of the imbalance.

Refer to the “Reiki” section on this site for more information about Reiki

 2.      This begins with the traditional Native Indian method of smudging using sage or sweet grass. An aura massage is then performed to smooth, clear and cleanse the aura. The aura massage is done using hands only and done in the auric field outside the physical body. This treatment alone will positively affect the chakras.

An assessment is then performed of the clients’ chakras with the use of a pendulum. Where there are any blockages or hyperactive chakras found they are balanced using quartz crystal and the pendulum along with intention from the practitioner. The client is debriefed on the findings and provided with home treatments and methods to maintain this balance.

The client is generally standing for this assessment and treatment; positional adaptations are made where necessary.


Chakra in the Sanskrit language means “wheel” or “circle”. The chakras are subtle and vital energy centers in the spine. Each chakra represents a major area of life and is also responsible for certain physiological reactions in the body. There are 7 major chakras in the body and they are as follows:

1.      Root or Base Chakra

Location- Base of spine

Colour- Red or black


Function-To give vitality to the physical body. Life force, foundation, survival instinct, self-preservation and security

Glands/Organs-Adrenals, kidneys, spinal column, colon, legs and bones

2.      Sacral Plexus Chakra

Location-Between navel and pubic bone



Function-Procreation, assimilation of food, physical force and vitality, sexuality, emotions, creativity and sensuality

Glands/organs-ovaries, testicles, prostate, genitals, spleen, uterus

3.      Solar Plexus Chakra

Location-Above the navel, below the rib cage



Function- This is the power chakra. It rules over our personal power, will and metabolism (digestive processes).

Glands/organs-Pancreas, adrenals, stomach, liver, gallbladder, nervous system and muscles

4.      Heart Chakra

Location-Center of the chest-it is the middle of the whole chakra system

Colour- Green or pink


Function- Devotion, love, compassion and relationships. Energizes the blood and physical body with life force, blood circulation.

Glands/organs-Heart, thymus, circulatory system, arms, hands, lungs

5.      Throat Chakra

Location-Throat area

Colour- Sky blue


Function- Speech, self-expression, sound, vibration, and communication

 Glands/organs-Thyroid, parathyroid, hypothalamus, throat, mouth

6.      Brow Chakra (Third Eye)

Location-Center of the forehead between the eyebrows

Colour-Indigo (dark blue)

Element-Light & Time

Function-symbolizes enlightenment throughout history with its purpose being intuition and vision. Vitalizes the lower brain and central nervous system.

Glands/organs-Pituitary gland, left eye, nose, ears

7.      Crown Chakra

Location-Above the head

Colour-Violet or white

Element-Thought/will, space

Function-Our connection to the divine. Vitalizes the upper brain

Glands/organs-Pineal gland, cerebral cortex, central nervous system, right eye